1. Deutsch
  2. About
  3. Contact
  4. Imprint

Gansterer McLardy
Paucar Stillwell

23.03. – 04.05. 2014

movement matters

Nikolaus Gansterer
Laura McLardy
Antonio Paucar
Madeline Stillwell

Curated by Kordula Fritze-Srbic

Is a work of art an object or a process? Is it a »material« or a »trace« of an event or action? The exhibition movement matters investigates the relationship between an artistic working process and the final manifestation of a work in which development and product are intimately linked. At a time when the ephemeral art form of the performance has become increasingly common in exhibitions, movement matters explores how various artists use aspects of time-based performance in ways that outlast the momentary while also serving the notion of a lasting work of art.

The invited artists engage in performatives practices and also produce works of art. The »genre« of their work oscillates between the immateriality of the ephemeral and the »permanence« of the artifact, with the transition from one to the other often being imperceptible. In this group exhibition formal patterns and objects are presented in a context that is set apart from of the preliminary act of their creation, although they entail forms, traces, and structures that refer to the process of their origin—thus generating an active link between the viewer and the creator.

The focus of the group exhibition at Kunstverein Göttingen – curated by Kordula Fritze-Sribc – lies on the works and concerns of a generation of emerging artists, whose work draws on the over fifty-year history of performance-based practice.

At the opening the curator will speak with artist Nikolaus Gansterer and Madeline Stillwell about their work.


Nikolaus Gansterer

In collaboration with the musician Annelie Gahl (violin), Nikolaus Gansterer (born 1974 in Klosterneuburg, Austria, lives and works in Vienna) explores Merce Cunningham and John Cage’s »Cheap Imitation / Second Hand« in his work in »Third Hand.« Gansterer creates a reinterpretation of one of these artists’ key works, translating it into a spatial arrangement that comprises drawings, video, and installation.

Antonio Paucar
The use of the body as an artistic medium is central to Antonio Paucar’s practice (born 1973 in Huancayo, Peru, lives and works in Berlin and Peru). In »Choreography of the Dancers« spinning tops have been altered to inscribe a fine mesh of lines and circular motions onto paper. In the video installation »La Shushupe« graphite dust rises through space, leaving marks behind that seem to have been drawn by an invisible hand.

Madeline Stillwell
The works of Madeline Stillwell (born 1978 in Minneapolis, USA, lives and works in Berlin) are founded on the bodily gesture. For the exhibition the artist is presenting sculptures made from a range of found and self made materials, onto which the physical actions of the artist are inscribed. The resulting negative space in and between materials is the results of an encounter between a body and its surroundings.

Laura McLardy
Laura McLardy’s (born 1984 in London, lives and works in Berlin) work focuses on the »writing of dance,« or choreography. She transforms prescribed steps and actions into abstracted patterns and invites the viewer to explore and re-enact these transcribed flows of movement.

kunstverein
göttingen

  1. English
  2. Über uns
  3. Kontakt
  4. Impressum

Gansterer McLardy
Paucar Stillwell

23.03. – 04.05. 2014

movement matters

Nikolaus Gansterer
Laura McLardy
Antonio Paucar
Madeline Stillwell

Kuratiert von
Kordula Fritze-Srbic

Besteht Kunst aus dem Objekt oder dem Prozess? Ist sie »Material« oder eine »Spur«? Die Ausstellung movement matters untersucht den Zusammenhang und die Divergenz zwischen dem Prozess der Entstehung und ihrer Manifestation und zeigt Arbeiten, deren Entwicklungsprozess ein immanenter Bestandteil des Werkes ist. In einer Zeit, in der die vergängliche Kunst, die Performance, vermehrt in Ausstellungsräumen präsent ist, hinterfragt movement matters, wie zeitgebundene performative Elemente in Materie umgewandelt werden.

Die eingeladenen Künstler sind sowohl in der bildenden Kunst als auch im Bereich der Performance tätig. Ihr Genre oszilliert zwischen dem Immateriellen und der »langlebigen« Kunst, wobei die eine Praxis in die andere übergeht. In dieser Gruppenausstellung stehen formale Muster und Objekte losgelöst von dem ehemals Stattgefundenen im Raum; gleichzeitig verweisen die Formen, hinterlassenen Spuren und Konzepte auf deren Entstehung und stellen eine direkte Verbindung zwischen dem Besucher und dem Schaffenden her.

Der Fokus dieser Gruppenausstellung im Kunstverein Göttingen – kuratiert von Kordula Fritze-Srbic – liegt auf Werken und Herangehensweisen einer jüngeren Künstlergeneration. Im Rahmen der Eröffnung findet ein Künstlergespräch mit der Kuratorin und den beiden Künstlern Nikolaus Gansterer und Madeline Stillwell statt.

Nikolaus Gansterer
»Third Hand« von Nikolaus Gansterer (geboren 1974 in Klosterneuburg, Österreich, lebt und arbeitet in Wien) setzt sich mit der Neu-Interpretation und Übersetzung (Zeichnung / Videoarbeit / Rauminstallation) des Schlüsselwerks »Cheap Imitation / Second Hand« von John Cage und Merce Cunningham in Zusammenarbeit mit der Musikerin Annelie Gahl (Violine) auseinander.

Antonio Paucar
Die Verwendung des Körpers als künstlerisches Medium untersucht Antonio Paucar (geboren 1973 in Huancayo, Peru, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Peru). Seine eigens angefertigten Kreisel schrieben in »Choreography of the Dancers« aquarellierte grafische Linien in das Papier ein. In der Videoinstallation »La Shushupe« gleitet wie von Geisterhand eine Linie über Wände.

Madeline Stillwell
Madeline Stillwells (geboren 1978 in Minneapolis, USA, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin) Arbeiten haben ihren Ausgangspunkt in der körperlichen Geste. Für die Ausstellung entstehen raumgreifende Skulpturen aus sperrigen Materialien. Die körperliche Interaktion schreibt sich in das Material ein und lässt auf der Oberfläche Spuren als negativen Raum zurück.

Laura McLardy

Dem »Schreiben von Tanz«, der Choreografie, widmet sich Laura McLardy (geboren 1984 in London, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin). Sie fordert den Zuschauer dazu auf, abstrahierte Bewegungsabläufe nachzuvollziehen und so die transformierte Bewegung wieder neu entstehen zu lassen.