kunstverein
göttingen

  1. Deutsch
  2. About
  3. Contact
  4. Imprint

Liz Magic
Laser

20.03. – 15.05. 2016

Identification Please

Kunstverein Göttingen presents »Identification Please«, a solo show by American multimedia artist Liz Magic Laser. »Identification Please« focuses on Laser’s visceral approach to unearthing sociopolitical constructions of self. The exhibition brings together works that explore identity formation in a wide range of scenarios including parenting, news production and political address. Viewers are invited to actively engage with the works via a series of teleprompters and a newspaper publication that offer directives.

The eponymous work »Identification Please« is a new iteration of Laser’s »Living Newspaper series« (2012 – present) which investigates the manipulation of empathy in the production and reception of current events. A monumental news- paper wall will display video and texts developed during workshops at Max-Planck-Gymnasium, Göttingen. Laser will use the school’s sports center as a forum to process the current ›refugee crisis‹ with the students. The installation invites viewers to take part in exercises that juxtapose newspaper articles with the students’ personal stories and perspectives.

The exhibition includes Laser’s latest video, »Kiss and Cry« (2015), made with child figure- skaters, which traces the social construction of the innocent child. Other works such as »The Thought Leader« (2015) reset and render visible the performance training and market research strategies used by politicians and the media to sway public opinion.

Liz Magic Laser (*1981, New York) lives and works in Brooklyn. Her performances and videos intervene in semi-public spaces such as bank vestibules, movie theaters and newsrooms, and have involved collaborations with actors, dancers, surgeons, and motorcycle gang members. Her work has been the subject of solo exhibitions at Mercer Union, Toronto (2015); Wilfried Lentz, Rotterdam, the Netherlands (2015); Various Small Fires, Los Angeles (2015); Paula Cooper Gallery, New York (2013).

kunstverein
göttingen

  1. English
  2. Über uns
  3. Kontakt
  4. Impressum

Liz Magic
Laser

20.03. – 15.05. 2016

Identification Please

Mit „Identification Please” präsentiert der Kunstverein Göttingen eine Einzelausstellung der US-amerikanischen Multimedia-Künstlerin Liz Magic Laser. Im Zentrum von „Identification Please” steht Lasers intuitive körperliche Auseinandersetzung mit soziopolitischen Konstruktionen des Selbst. Die in der Ausstellung versammelten Arbeiten untersuchen Identitätsformationen in einem breiten Spektrum von Szenarios, darunter Elternschaft, Nachrichtenproduktion und politische Ansprache. Über eine Reihe von Telepromptern und eine Zeitungspublikation, in der sich Anleitungen finden, werden die ZuschauerInnen zum aktiven Austausch mit den Arbeiten eingeladen.

Mit der titelgebenden Arbeit „Identification Please” – der neuesten Ausgabe von Lasers „Living Newspaper-Serie” (fortlaufend seit 2012) – untersucht die Künstlerin, wie Produktion und Rezeption von Tagesereignissen Empathie manipulieren. Eine monumentale Zeitungswand präsentiert dabei ein Video und Texte, die innerhalb eines Schul-Workshops erarbeitet wurden, in dessen Rahmen Laser die Turnhalle der Schule in ein Forum zur Verhandlung der derzeitigen sogenannten ›Flüchtlingskrise‹ mit den SchülerInnen umfunktioniert. Die Installation lädt die ZuschauerInnen zu Übungen ein, in denen Zeitungsartikel den persönlichen Geschichten und Blickrichtungen der SchülerInnen gegenübergestellt werden.

Die Ausstellung umfasst außerdem unter anderem Lasers neuestes Video „Kiss and Cry” (2015), in dem anhand von jungen Eiskunstläufer- Innen die soziale Konstruktion des unschuldigen Kindes nachgezeichnet wird. Andere Arbeiten, wie etwa „The Thought Leader” (2015) und „Stand Behind Me” (2013), zeigen das Performancetraining und die Marktforschungsstrategien, die PolitikerInnen einsetzen, um die öffentliche Meinung zu beeinflussen.

Liz Magic Laser (*1981, New York) lebt und arbeitet in Brooklyn. Ihre Performances und Videos greifen in halb öffentliche Räume ein – wie etwa Kinos und Nachrichtenredaktionen – und entstanden zum Teil in Zusammenarbeit mit SchauspielerInnen, TänzerInnen, ChirurgInnen und Mitgliedern einer Motorradgang. Ihre Arbeiten waren in Einzelausstellungen bei Mercer Union, Toronto (2015); Wilfried Lentz, Rotterdam (2015); Various Small Fires, Los Angeles (2015); Paula Cooper Gallery, New York (2013) zu sehen.