kunstverein
göttingen

  1. Deutsch
  2. About
  3. Contact
  4. Imprint

Movements of
Migration

03.03. – 30.03. 2013

Gruppenausstellung

Making Migration Visible!
Movements of Migration.
New Perspectives on Migration in Göttingen

An exhibition parcours

Neele Behler, Charalambos Ganotis, Ralf Homann, Luise Marbach, Fabian Stoltz, Britta Wernecke, Florian Wüst
In cooperation with 17 students from the Institute for Cultural Anthropology/European Ethnology, University of Göttingen

Movements of Migration, an exhibition project based on student research, takes place from March 3 - 30, 2013 at the Kunstverein Göttingen (Künstlerhaus venue). A cooperation between the University of Göttingen, the Kunstverein, and the Integration Council of the City of Göttingen, the exhibition presents the results of a three-semester student research project at the Institute of Cultural Anthropology/European Ethnology on the history and present state of migration in Göttingen. In cooperation with seven artists, the students are presenting their results in the form of an exhibition, which features stations located throughout the heart of the city. The aim is to raise public awareness for the issue of migration and establish a digital “knowledge-archive” on the subject.

The cooperation between academic research, art as well as institutions and individuals from the city of Göttingen makes Movements of Migration a model project in the context of Germany. “We are the first research project to address and examine the forgotten history of migration in Göttingen. Our goal is to provide a public forum that allows the voices of migration to be heard. For this reason we decided to included stations throughout the city in addition to the exhibition in the Kunstverein, including an exhibition container at the train station and listening stations in businesses and stores,” says the project’s initiator and director, Dr. Sabine Hess from the Institute for European Ethnology at the University of Göttingen. The accompanying program includes screenings and readings as well as discussions with migrants and city protagonists.

The interactive “knowledge-archive,” which containing all research materials and their presentation formats in the exhibition, guarantees that the study and archiving of Göttingen’s migration history is sustained beyond the exhibition. “In the Kunstverein there is an archive room, where visitors are invited to browse and actively take part. Personal migration stories can be recorded in the form of sound and video contributions, and private documents may also be donated to the archive on site. The innovative aspect of this part of the project is that the archive remains intact beyond the period of the exhibition, and it poses a cooperative offer to the city of Göttingen to integrate the history of migration into the comprehensive history of Göttingen.”

For more information, please see: www.movements-of-migration.org

Exhibition Parcours: The route includes an exhibition container at the train station, listening stations, films, and installations in the Goetheallee, at Kunstverein (Künstlerhaus venue), on Wilhelmsplatz and Marktplatz and QR-Codes throughout the city.

Research Directors: Prof. Dr. Sabine Hess, Dr. Torsten Näser
Artistic Director: Ralf Homann

*

Contact: Prof. Dr. Sabine Hess

Georg-August-Universität Göttingen,
Institut für Kulturanthropologie/Europäische Ethnologie
Heinrich-Düker-Weg 14,
37073 Göttingen
Tel:(0551) 39-25349
Fax: (0551) 39-21241
Email: sabine.hess@phil.uni-goettingen.de

kunstverein
göttingen

  1. English
  2. Über uns
  3. Kontakt
  4. Impressum

Movements of
Migration

03.03. – 30.03. 2013

Gruppenausstellung

Migration sichtbar machen!
Movements of Migration.
Neue Perspektiven auf Migration in Göttingen

Ein Ausstellungsparcours

www.movements-of-migration.org

Neele Behler, Charalambos Ganotis, Ralf Homann, Luise Marbach, Fabian Stoltz, Britta Wernecke, Florian Wüst
In Kooperation mit 17 Studierenden des Instituts für Kulturanthropologie/Europäische Ethnologie, Universität Göttingen

„Movements of Migration“ heißt ein künstlerisch-studentisches Ausstellungsprojekt, das vom 3. bis zum 30. März 2013 in den Räumen des Kunstvereins im Künstlerhaus in der Gotmarstraße gezeigt wird. Die Ausstellung, welche in Kooperation zwischen der Universität Göttingen, dem Kunstverein und dem Integrationsrat realisiert wird, ist das Ergebnis eines dreisemestrigen Lernforschungsprojekts am Institut für Kulturanthropologie/ Europäische Ethnologie zur Geschichte und Gegenwart der Migration in Göttingen. In Zusammenarbeit mit sieben Künstler_innen haben die Studierenden ihre Ergebnisse in Form eines Ausstellungsparcours, der sich durch die Innenstadt zieht, aufbereitet. Ziel ist es, das Thema „Migration“ ins öffentliche Bewusstsein zu rücken und dieses auf lange Sicht in einem digitalen Wissensarchiv aufzuarbeiten.

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Wissenschaft, Kunst und städtischen Akteuren macht „Movements of Migration“ in Göttingen zu einem bundesweiten Modellprojekt. „Wir sind das erste Forschungsprojekt, welches die vergessene Geschichte der Migration in Göttingen aufarbeitet. Es ist unser Ziel die Stimmen der Migration in die Öffentlichkeit zu tragen und sichtbar zu machen. Deshalb gibt es zusätzlich zu den Räumen im Künstlerhaus noch Stationen in der Stadt, wie beispielsweise einen Ausstellungscontainer am Bahnhof und Hörstationen in Geschäften“, so die Projektleiterin Prof. Dr. Sabine Hess vom Institut für Kulturanthropologie/Europäische Ethnologie der Universität Göttingen. Das Begleitprogramm umfasst Filmreihen und Lesungen sowie Gesprächsrunden mit Migrant_innen und städtischen Akteur_innen.

Eine nachhaltige Aufarbeitung und Archivierung der Göttinger Migrationsgeschichten garantiert ein interaktives Wissensarchiv, das alle recherchierten Materialien und Umsetzungen enthält. „Im Kunstverein gibt es einen Archivraum, der zum Stöbern und Mitmachen einlädt. Die persönlichen Geschichten der Migrant_innen in Form von Ton- und Videoaufnahmen, aber auch private Dokumente können in das Wissensarchiv vor Ort eingespeist werden. Das Innovative hierbei ist, dass das Wissensarchiv auch über die Dauer des Ausstellungsparcours bestehen bleibt und als Kooperationsangebot an die Stadt gedacht ist, die Göttinger Migrationsgeschichte in die allgemeine Stadtgeschichte zu integrieren.“

Weitere Informationen alsbald unter: www.movements-of-migration.org

Ausstellungsparcours: mit einem Ausstellungscontainer am Bahnhof, Hörstationen, Filmen und Installationen in der Goetheallee, im Kunstverein (im Künstlerhaus), am Wilhelmsplatz und am Marktplatz und mit weiteren QR-Codes in der Stadt

Wissenschaftliche Leitung: Prof. Dr. Sabine Hess, Dr. Torsten Näser
Künstlerische Leitung: Ralf Homann

*

Kontaktadresse: Prof. Dr. Sabine Hess

Georg-August-Universität Göttingen,
Institut für Kulturanthropologie/Europäische Ethnologie
Heinrich-Düker-Weg 14,
37073 Göttingen
Tel:(0551) 39-25349
Fax (0551) 39-21241
E-Mail: sabine.hess@phil.uni-goettingen.de