kunstverein
göttingen

  1. Deutsch
  2. About
  3. Contact
  4. Imprint

Haunted Thresholds
Spirituality in Contemporary Southeast Asia

09.11. – 22.12. 2014

Gruppenausstellung / Group Exhibition

In cooperation with the research network Dynamics of Religion in Southeast Asia (DORISEA), University of Göttingen

Art Labor (Vietnam), Maung DAY (Myanmar), Riel HILARIO (Philippines), HO Tzu Nyen (Singapore), NGUYEN TRINH Thi (Vietnam), Jakrawal NILTHAMRONG (Thailand), Yudi NOOR (Indonesia), Kaensan RATTANASOMRERK (Thailand), John Frank SABADO (Philippines), Taiki SAKPISIT, Chulayarnnon SIRIPHOL (Thailand), THAN Sok (Cambodia), TRUONG CONG Tung (Vietnam), Apichatpong WEERASETHAKUL (Thailand), Entang WIHARSO (Indonesia)

Curated by Lauren Reid

Haunted Thresholds arises from the collaboration of the Kunstverein Göttingen and Dynamics of Religion in Southeast Asia (DORISEA), a research network dedicated to investigating the relationship between religion and the contemporary in this region. Southeast Asia is particularly marked by a complex coexistence and cooperation among different cultures and religions. Religions there have developed a rich dynamic and play a prime role in shaping modernization processes.

Investigating the subtle yet omnipresent influence of religion and spirituality in the everyday, this exhibition features artists from Southeast Asia who explore the thresholds or tipping-points between contemporary living and the incorporeal realm. Their works speak of invisible forces, modern enchantment, and karmic gestures. Spirituality and mythology merge almost seamlessly with the everyday, dissolving the boundaries between different realities, times or states of being.

The artists each present idiosyncratic and unresolved perspectives that spring from their unique experiences and current cultural contexts, rather than one that is representative of a single country, region or ideology. In particular, each artist uses their own index of mythical elements to form a bridge between their present moment and the complex of buried histories, shifting geographies, and colonial wounds from which it has arisen.

Focusing on the effects of the past on the present and future are artists such as the filmmaker Apichatpong Weerasethakul who subtly refers to the violent history of Nabua, Thailand. Maung Day’s poems question the Burmese government, tracking across cultural references from Depeche Mode to the celestial beings called devas in a single piece. Filipino artist, John Frank Sabado’s intricate drawings of forests and the spirits within them convey the disequilibrium between the environment and the myriad ancestors who have come before.

Attitudes towards different strands of Buddhism, one of the most predominant religions in Southeast Asia, can be found throughout the exhibition. Jakrawal Nilthamrong’s film of a monk’s meditative work is inspired by a friend who lives in a jungle temple in Thailand; while Than Sok questions the practice of monetary almsgiving to monks in Cambodia. Taking a quietly critical approach, Kaensan Rattanasomrerk shows how objects can be elevated to the sacred through ritual; and Chulayarnnon Siriphol draws parallels between religious reverie and politics in present-day Bangkok. Here, both artists imply a confusion or misplacement of modern belief.

Taking an experimental documentary approach, artists such as Truong Cong Tung and Nguyen Trinh Thi poetically show unique rituals in Vietnam: the healing rituals in the Magical Garden in Long An Provence and those of the homosexual spirit mediums in the Dao Mau folk religion in Hanoi respectively.

Haunted Thresholds draws together a wide variety of artistic media, from traditional techniques such as Riel Hilario’s near-obsolete wood-carving ritual from his childhood home of San Vicente Ilocos Sur, Philippines; to more contemporary approaches such as Taiki Sakpisit’s intricate editing of 1980s B movies from Thailand. The Indonesian artist Yudi Noor focuses on the multiplicity of religions in Indonesia. Particularly influenced by his Muslim background, he creates assemblages from collected objects. What recurs in each of these artists’ work is the mixing of spiritual and cultural influences from Christianity to animism, East to West, ancient folklore to modern media.

Entang Wiharso, whose metal reliefs often refer to transcendental dream states, fuzes personal memory with the greater narrative of Indonesia. Also focusing on the mythology of his home country of Singapore, Ho Tzu Nyen digs into the past to reveal other versions of history that instead reveal it to be more complex, layered and interwoven than it seems. Finally Art Labor explores belief more broadly, collaborating with theorists from different disciplines to build resources on spirituality and mythology in Southeast Asia and further abroad. The artists here simultaneously emphasize the plurality of mythology and spirituality, extending beyond the borders of Southeast Asia.

Haunted Thresholds will also include ethnological objects as well as a parallel publication, to contextualize the works of the artists and to illuminate the research undertaken by DORISEA.

The exhibition has been kindly supported by: Land Niedersachsen, Federal Ministry of Education and Research, City of Göttingen, Landschaftsverband Südniedersachsen e.V., Sparkasse Göttingen, Universitätsbund Göttingen e.V. and the Dr. Walther-Liebehenz-Foundation

kunstverein
göttingen

  1. English
  2. Über uns
  3. Kontakt
  4. Impressum

Haunted Thresholds
Spirituality in Contemporary Southeast Asia

09.11. – 22.12. 2014

Gruppenausstellung / Group Exhibition

In Kooperation mit dem Kompetenznetzwerk „Dynamiken von Religion in Südostasien“ (DORISEA), Universität Göttingen

Künstler/innen: Art Labor (Vietnam), Maung DAY (Myanmar), Riel HILARIO (Philippines), HO Tzu Nyen (Singapore), NGUYEN TRINH Thi (Vietnam), Jakrawal NILTHAMRONG (Thailand), Yudi NOOR (Indonesia), Kaensan RATTANASOMRERK (Thailand), John Frank SABADO (Philippines), Taiki SAKPISIT, Chulayarnnon SIRIPHOL (Thailand), THAN Sok (Cambodia), TRUONG CONG Tung (Vietnam), Apichatpong WEERASETHAKUL (Thailand), Entang WIHARSO (Indonesia)

Kuratiert von Lauren Reid

Haunted Thresholds ist ein Resultat der Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Kunstverein Göttingen e.V. und dem Forschungsnetzwerk “Dynamiken von Religion in Südostasien“ (DORISEA), das vom Ministerium für Bildung und Forschung finanziert wird. DORISEA untersucht die Beziehungen von Religion und Moderne in Südostasien, das durch besonders komplexe Verflechtungen verschiedener Kulturen und Religionen geprägt ist. Die in der Region vertretenen Religionen haben vielfältige Dynamiken entwickelt und gestalten Modernisierungsprozesse entscheidend mit.

Die Ausstellung spürt der Präsenz von Religion und Spiritualität im Alltag nach und zeigt Künstler/innen aus Südostasien, die sowohl die intimen Verbindungen als auch die radikalen Brüche zwischen modernem Leben und dem Religiösen erkunden. Ihre Werke sprechen von unsichtbaren Kräften, modernen Ritualen und karmischen Gesten. Spiritualität und Mythologie verschmelzen mit dem Alltäglichen, die Grenzen zwischen verschiedenen Realitäten, Zeiten und Seinszuständen lösen sich auf.

Die Künstler/innen präsentieren subjektive Perspektiven und ungelöste Fragen, die ihren individuellen Erfahrungen und künstlerischen Kontexten entspringen. Sie repräsentieren weder einen Staat noch eine Region oder Ideologie. Vor allem nutzen alle ihre je spezifischen Repertoires an mythologischen Elementen, um eine Brücke zwischen Gegenwart und Vergangenheit zu schlagen, die Region neu zu schreiben und die Wunden des Kolonialismus zu artikulieren.

Die Künstler/innen konzentrieren sich auf die Auswirkungen der Vergangenheit auf Gegenwart und Zukunft. So bezieht sich der Filmemacher Apichatpong Weerasethakul subtil auf die gewalttätige Geschichte von Nabua, Thailand. Maung Days Gedichte hinterfragen die birmanische Regierung und verbinden in einem einzigen Werk kulturelle Referenzen von Depeche Mode bis zu den himmlischen Wesen namens Devas. Die komplizierten Zeichnungen von Wäldern und Geistern des philippinischen Künstlers John Frank Sabado vermitteln einen Eindruck der aus dem Gleichgewicht geratenen Beziehung zwischen der Natur und den Geistern der Vorfahren.

Reflektionen verschiedener Ausprägungen des Buddhismus, einer der verbreitetsten Religionen in Südostasien, finden sich in der gesamten Ausstellung. Jakrawal Nilthamrongs Film über die meditative Arbeit eines Mönches wurde durch einen Freund inspiriert, der in einem Wald-Tempel in Thailand lebt, während Than Soks Werk das Verfahren der monetären Almosenspende an Mönche in Kambodscha hinterfragt. Mit einem leisen, kritischen Ansatz zeigt Kaensan Rattanasomrerk, wie Objekte durch Rituale in etwas Heiliges transformiert werden können und Chulayarnnon Siriphol zieht Parallelen zwischen religiöser Träumerei und Politik im heutigen Bangkok.

Mittels eines experimentell-dokumentarischen Ansatzes zeigen Künstler wie Truong Cong Tung und Nguyen Trinh Thi auf poetische Art und Weise einzigartige Rituale in Vietnam: die Heilrituale im sogenannten “Magischen Garten“ in der Provinz Long An und diejenigen der homosexuellen Geistermedien der populären Dao Mau Religion in Hanoi.

Haunted Thresholds verbindet eine Vielzahl von künstlerischen Medien. Sie reichen von traditionellen Techniken wie Riel Hilarios‘ aktuell kaum mehr gebräuchlichem Holzschnitzer-Ritual aus seinem Kindheitsort San Vicente Ilocos Sur auf den Philippinen bis hin zu zeitgenössischen Ansätzen wie die aufwändige Bearbeitung der B-Movies der 80er Jahre aus Thailand von Taiki Sakpisit. Der indonesische Künstler Yudi Noor konzentriert sich auf die Vielzahl der Religionen in Indonesien. Beeinflusst durch muslimische Perspektiven, schafft er Assemblagen aus gesammelten Objekten. Was sich in den Arbeiten aller Künstler wiederholt, ist die Vermischung von intellektuellen, religiösen und kulturellen Einflüssen, in denen sich „Ost“ und „West“, alte Traditionen und moderne Medien begegnen.

In Entang Wiharsos Metallreliefs, die sich oft auf transzendentale Traumzustände beziehen, verschmelzen persönliche Erinnerungen mit der Geschichte Indonesiens. Mit Fokus auf die Mythologie seiner Heimat Singapur gräbt Ho Tzu Nyen in der Vergangenheit, um andere Versionen der Geschichte zu offenbaren, die zeigen, dass sie komplexer, vielschichtiger und verwobener ist, als es den Anschein hat. Schließlich erforscht Art Labor Glaubenssysteme noch weitgehender, indem sie mit Theoretiker/innen aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen kollaborieren, um Ressourcen zu sammeln, die auf der Spiritualität und der Mythologie Südostasiens und anderer Regionen basieren. Die Künstler betonen gleichzeitig die Pluralität von Mythologie und Spiritualität, die sich über die Grenzen Südostasiens hinaus erstrecken.

Haunted Thresholds bringt diese Arbeiten in einen experimentellen Dialog mit ausgewählten südostasiatischen Objekten aus der Ethnologischen Sammlung des Instituts für Ethnologie an der Universität Göttingen. Mit ihrer eigenen Ästhetik und Reflexivität verweisen diese Objekte auf die gleichen Themen und Fragen, mit denen sich die zeitgenössischen Künstler/innen sich beschäftigen.

Die Ausstellung wird gefördert von: Land Niedersachsen, Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, Stadt Göttingen, Landschaftsverband Südniedersachsen e.V., Sparkasse Göttingen, Universitätsbund Göttingen e.V. und Dr. Walther-Liebehenz-Stiftung