April 2022

29Apr(Apr 29)00:0012Jun(Jun 12)00:00Ellen Martine HeuserNot a civilization, but you,Kunstverein Göttingen im Alten Rathaus

At first, the phrase “Not a civilization, but you,” seems to lead nowhere. In the context of the exhibition that artist Ellen Martine Heuser is showing at Kunstverein Göttingen, however, the half-sentence that forms the exhibition title is an invitation to us as individuals. It is an invitation to see ourselves as part of a civilization in which we are active participants – as part of a civilization that we can help shape and for whose social order, successes and failures we bear responsibility.

From this point of departure, Ellen Martine Heuser’s exhibition in Göttingen’s Old Town Hall takes a look at a civilizational past, while analyzing the here and now in equal measure. The work Dorf [Village] (2015), for example, is the artistic analysis of a living space that still exists today. The individual elements of the work – well, trough, house – establish a connection to the immediate environment of the exhibition space and form a reference to the civilization that surrounds the exhibition. At the same time, works such as Mausoleum (2022) and Nekropolis (2020) refer to the antiquity of western historiography and invite the question of how these societies, their customs and achievements, shape contemporary coexistence.

Physical labor is also part of Ellen Martine Heuser’s artistic approach. The artist carries out excavations herself and takes up traditional crafts, such as bell casting. Through these actions, she brings to the surface the very forms and histories that otherwise remain hidden. At the same time, the artworks help us to order our environment and to consider our civilization.

 

Ellen Martine Heuser (*1990 Copenhagen / DNK) presents her first institutional solo exhibition in Germany with Not a civilization, but you,. She studied fine arts in Hamburg and Warsaw and has participated in exhibitions both in Germany and internationally, including in Belgium, Poland and Austria, among others. Her intensive and process-oriented artistic engagement with places, as well as her questioning of sculpture as a purely physical object, has been widely recognized. Heuser has participated in residencies in Copenhagen, Vilnius and Vienna, among other places.

Curated by Vincent Schier

 

The exhibition will be shown at the Alte Rathaus in cooperation with the Fachdienst Kultur der Stadt Göttingen.

We thank our funding partners:

For the production of the exhibition Ellen Martine Heuser has been supported by Danish Arts Foundation, Danish Art Workshops and Carl Nielsen and Anne Marie Carl-Nielsen’s Foundation.

Datum

29. April (Freitag) - 12. Juni (Sonntag)

Veranstaltungsort

Kunstverein Göttingen im Alten Rathaus

Markt 9, 37073 Göttingen

Öffnungszeiten

Tuesday – Sunday
11 am – 5 pm

X

April 2022

29Apr(Apr 29)00:0012Jun(Jun 12)00:00Ellen Martine HeuserNot a civilization, but you,Kunstverein Göttingen im Alten Rathaus

“Not a civilzation, but you, [Nicht eine Zivilisation, sondern du,]“ ist ein Satz, der zunächst ins Leere zu laufen scheint. Im Kontext der Ausstellung, die die Künstlerin Ellen Martine Heuser im Kunstverein Göttingen zeigt, ist der Halbsatz, der den Titel der Ausstellung bildet, jedoch eine Aufforderung an uns als Individuen. Es ist die Aufforderung, uns selbst als Teil einer Zivilisation zu sehen, in der wir handelnde Akteur*innen sind. Als Teil einer Zivilisation, die wir mitgestalten können und für deren gesellschaftliche Ordnung und Erfolge und Misserfolge wir Verantwortung tragen.

Von diesem Ausgangspunkt ausgehend nimmt Ellen Martine Heuser in der Ausstellung im Alten Rathaus Göttingen unsere zivilisatorische Vergangenheit in den Blick und analysiert in gleichem Maße das Hier und Jetzt. Die Arbeit Dorf (2015) ist beispielsweise die künstlerische Analyse eines Lebensraumes, der noch heute Bestand hat. Die einzelnen Elemente der Arbeit – etwa Brunnen, Trog, Haus – stellen eine Verbindung zur unmittelbaren Umgebung der Ausstellung her und bilden eine Referenz zu jener Zivilisation, die die Ausstellung umgibt. Gleichzeitig verweisen Arbeiten wie Mausoleum (2022) oder Nekropolis (2020) auf die Antike der westlichen Geschichtsschreibung und lassen die Frage zu, wie diese Gesellschaften und ihre Bräuche und Errungenschaften, das heutige Zusammenleben prägen.

Auch körperliche Arbeit ist Teil der künstlerischen Herangehensweise von Ellen Martine Heuser. Die Künstlerin nimmt selbst Ausgrabungen vor und greift Traditionshandwerke auf, wie etwa den Glockenguss. Durch diese Handlungen bringt sie jene Formen und Geschichten an die Oberfläche, die sonst im Verborgenen existieren. Gleichzeitig unterstützen die künstlerischen Arbeiten uns dabei, unsere Umgebung zu ordnen und uns mit unserer Zivilisation auseinander zu setzen.

 

Ellen Martine Heuser (*1990 Kopenhagen / DNK) zeigt mit Not a civilization, but you, ihre erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung in Deutschland. Sie hat in Hamburg und Warschau Bildende Kunst studiert und war sowohl in Deutschland als auch international an Ausstellungen beteiligt, u.a. in Belgien, Polen und Österreich. Ihre intensive und prozessorientierte künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit Orten sowie ihre Infragestellung der Skulptur als rein physisches Objekt wurde vielfach anerkannt, Heuser verbrachte u.a. Arbeitsaufenthalte in Kopenhagen, Vilnius und Wien.

Kuratiert von Vincent Schier

 

Die Ausstellung findet im Alten Rathaus in Kooperation mit dem Fachdienst Kultur des Stadt Göttingen statt.

Wir danken unseren Förderern:

Für die Produktion der Ausstellung wurde Ellen Martine Heuser unterstützt von der Danish Arts Foundation, Danish Art Workshops und Carl Nielsen and Anne Marie Carl-Nielsen’s Foundation.

Datum

29. April (Freitag) - 12. Juni (Sonntag)

Veranstaltungsort

Kunstverein Göttingen im Alten Rathaus

Markt 9, 37073 Göttingen

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag – Sonntag
11 – 17 Uhr

X