Juli 2022

15Jul(Jul 15)00:0028Aug(Aug 28)00:00Martin MaellerNervous DustKunstverein Göttingen

In the exhibition Nervous Dust Martin Maeller examines questions of identity, sensitivity and vulnerability, and addresses the relationship between private and public mourning. He develops his works from personal memories, mythology and pop culture to explore collective experiences of loss, processes of alienation, and the search for belonging.

In his artistic work, Maeller interweaves reality with fiction, revealing not only contradictions, but also blurring notions of social conventions, and at times referring to people who, by virtue of their own identity, see themselves as disconnected from the world. His sculptures function as expressions of queer grief, drawing form and content from nonconforming processes of commemoration. Through the use of organic and industrial materials, and the altering and reinterpreting of everyday objects, he connects things that, at first glance, do not seem to belong together. Maeller’s works appear smooth and reduced; and at the same time, they are also intimate and intuitive: heat-shrinkable rubber tubing is reminiscent of lifeless branches, vessels with figurative elements resemble mummification jars, printed cubes made of acrylic glass evoke reliquaries.

In his exhibition, Maeller gathers ambivalent inner worlds – between melancholy and repression, affection and care – and, in the process, allows new forms of personal experience to emerge. His works seem like fragments of a gloomy world of thought, like poetic set pieces that contrast the physical world. The exhibition Nervous Dust opens up alternative perspectives and puts the focus on topics that exist on the fringes of social discourse.

 

Martin Maeller (*1990) lives and works in Berlin. In 2016, he graduated from the Weißensee Academy of Art Berlin. He has participated in numerous institutional solo and group exhibitions, including at the Neuer Aachener Kunstverein (2022); Dům umění, Brno (2021); the Museum for Sepulchral Culture, Kassel (2020); Basis, Frankfurt (2019); and Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2018), among others. He was a scholarship recipient of the Tokyo Residency Program of the Mart Stam Society, Berlin in 2019 and of the Alexander Tutsek-Foundation, Munich in 2017.

Curated by Vincent Schier.

 

We thank our funding partners:

Datum

15. Juli (Freitag) - 28. August (Sonntag)

Veranstaltungsort

Kunstverein Göttingen

Gotmarstraße 1, 37073 Göttingen

Öffnungszeiten

Tuesday – Friday
2 pm  – 6 pm

Saturday – Sunday
11 am – 5 pm

X

Juli 2022

15Jul(Jul 15)13:3228Aug(Aug 28)13:32Martin MaellerNervous DustKunstverein Göttingen

In der Ausstellung Nervous Dust setzt sich Martin Maeller mit Fragen von Identität, Sensibilität und Verletzlichkeit auseinander und befasst sich mit dem Verhältnis von privater und öffentlicher Trauer. Er entwickelt seine Arbeiten aus persönlichen Erinnerungen, Mythologie und Popkultur, um kollektive Erfahrungen von Verlust, Entfremdungsprozessen und der Suche nach Zugehörigkeit zu erforschen.

In seiner künstlerischen Arbeit verwebt Maeller Realität mit Fiktion und offenbart nicht nur Widersprüche, sondern verwischt Vorstellungen sozialer Konventionen und verweist mitunter auf Menschen, die sich aufgrund ihrer eigenen Identität als von der Welt abgekapselt erleben. Seine Skulpturen fungieren als Ausdruck queerer Trauer, die Form und Inhalt aus unangepassten Prozessen des Gedenkens beziehen. Durch die Verwendung von organischen und industriellen Materialien sowie das Verändern und Umdeuten von Alltagsgegenständen verbindet er Dinge, die auf den ersten Blick nicht zusammengehören. Maellers Arbeiten zeigen sich glatt und reduziert, gleichzeitig auch intim und intuitiv: Gummi-Schrumpfschläuche erinnern an leblose Äste, Gefäße mit figurativen Elementen ähneln Mumifizierungsbehältnissen, bedruckte Würfel aus Acrylglas gleichen Reliquienschreinen.

Maeller versammelt in seiner Ausstellung ambivalente Innenwelten zwischen Schwermut und Verdrängung, Zuneigung und Fürsorge und lässt dadurch neue Formen persönlicher Erfahrung entstehen. Seine Arbeiten wirken wie Fragmente einer melancholischen Gedankenwelt, wie poetische Versatzstücke, welche die physische Welt kontrastieren. Die Ausstellung Nervous Dust eröffnet alternative Perspektiven und rückt Themen in den Fokus, die am Rand gesellschaftlicher Diskurse existieren.

 

Martin Maeller (*1990) lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. 2016 schloss er sein Studium an der Kunsthochschule Weißensee Berlin ab. Er war an zahlreichen institutionellen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen beteiligt, unter anderem im Neuen Aachener Kunstverein, (2022) Dům umění, Brno (2021), dem Museum für Sepulkralkultur, Kassel (2020), Basis, Frankfurt (2019) und dem Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2018). 2019 war er Stipendiat des Tokyo-Residency-Programs der Mart-Stam Gesellschaft, Berlin sowie 2017 der Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung, München.

Kuratiert von Vincent Schier.

 

Für ihre Förderung danken wir:

Datum

15. Juli (Freitag) - 28. August (Sonntag)

Veranstaltungsort

Kunstverein Göttingen

Gotmarstraße 1, 37073 Göttingen

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag – Freitag
14.00 – 18.00 Uhr

Samstag – Sonntag
11.00 – 17.00 Uhr

X