Januar 2022

14Jan(Jan 14)00:0020Feb(Feb 20)00:00Silvia Noronhathe breath belowKunstverein Göttingen

In her work, Silvia Noronha engages with possible future scenarios and the ways they are influenced and determined by the present. She develops long-term projects through ongoing research processes and interdisciplinary collaborations that expand, change and transform over time and with newly gained insights.

For the exhibition at Kunstverein Göttingen, the artist transforms the exhibition space into a collection of materials. Stones, wood, construction materials and metals are stored in the exhibition and combine to form a reflection of our immediate environment. The interaction between the different materials shows how, in the end, everything in this environment is connected. A participatory sound installation, created in collaboration with Niko de Paula Lefort, not only makes this fact visible, but also audible, by inviting into the energetic inter-relations of matter and the environment, which are captured and translated by a performative radio transmission ecosystem. This positions visitors as an integral and activating part of the material collection.

The basic assumption that everything is connected is also evident in the ongoing and ever-expanding artistic research project, Shifting Geologies. In the context of the work, which was begun in 2020, the artist directs the gaze towards a possible future and visualizes what archeological findings might look like in a distant time. At the same time, she addresses what these will reveal about the way we treat our environment. the breath below is not, however, an exhibition that grapples with ecological issues in an admonitory manner. Rather, it is an observation and survey that makes connections visible and shows that the relationships between material, civilization and environment will outlive today.

 

Silvia Noronha (*1984 Belo Horizonte / BRA) lives and works in Berlin and, with the breath below, presents her first institutional solo exhibition in Germany. She studied in Belo Horizonte, Copenhagen and Berlin and has been awarded the Mart Stam Prize, the Elsa Neumann Scholarship of the State of Berlin and the research grant of the Berlin Senate. She was also a fellow of the Goldrausch project for women artists in 2020. Silvia Noronha has participated in exhibitions nationally and internationally, including in Berlin, Dresden, the Netherlands and Austria, among others.

 

For the support we thank:

Datum

14. Januar (Freitag) - 20. Februar (Sonntag)

Veranstaltungsort

Kunstverein Göttingen

Gotmarstraße 1, 37073 Göttingen

Öffnungszeiten

Tuesday – Friday
2 pm  – 6 pm

Saturday – Sunday
11 am – 5 pm

X

Januar 2022

14Jan(Jan 14)00:0020Feb(Feb 20)00:00Silvia Noronhathe breath belowKunstverein Göttingen

In ihrer Arbeit setzt sich Silvia Noronha mit möglichen Zukunftsszenarien auseinander und untersucht, wie diese aus dem Jetzt heraus beeinflusst werden. Dabei erarbeitet sie in langfristig angelegten Rechercheprozessen und in interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeiten Langzeitprojekte, die sich über die Zeit und mit neu gewonnen Erkenntnissen erweitern, verändern und transformieren.

Für die Ausstellung im Kunstverein Göttingen verwandelt die Künstlerin den Ausstellungsraum in eine Materialsammlung. Steine, Hölzer, Baustoffe und Metalle lagern in der Ausstellung und verbinden sich zu einem Abbild unserer direkten Umgebung. Die Interaktion zwischen den verschiedenen Materialien zeigt, wie in dieser Umgebung am Ende alles zusammenhängt. Eine partizipative Soundinstallation, die in Zusammenarbeit mit Niko de Paula Lefort entsteht, macht diesen Umstand nicht nur seh- sondern auch hörbar, denn Besucher*innen bewegen sich in der Ausstellung innerhalb der energetischen Wechselbeziehungen zwischen Materie und Umwelt, die durch ein performatives Funkübertragungsökosystem eingefangen und übersetzt werden. So werden sie zu einem integrativen Teil der Materialsammlung und können diese erleben und aktivieren.

Die Grundannahme, dass alles zusammenhängt, zeigt sich auch in der fortlaufenden und sich stetig erweiternden, künstlerischen Recherche Shifting Geologies. Im Rahmen der 2020 begonnen Arbeit richtet die Künstlerin den Blick in eine mögliche Zukunft und macht sichtbar, wie archäologische Funde in einer fernen Zeit aussehen könnten. Gleichzeitig thematisiert sie, was diese über den Umgang mit unserer Umwelt verraten werden. the breath below ist jedoch keine Ausstellung, die sich mahnend mit ökologischen Fragen auseinandersetzt. Vielmehr ist sie Beobachtung und Bestandsaufnahme, die Zusammenhänge sichtbar macht und aufzeigt, dass die Beziehungen zwischen Material, Zivilisation und Umwelt das Heute überdauern werden.

 

Silvia Noronha (*1984 Belo Horizonte / BRA) lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und zeigt mit the breath below ihre erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung in Deutschland. Sie studierte in Belo Horizonte, Kopenhagen und Berlin und wurde mit dem Mart-Stam-Preis, dem Elsa-Neumann-Stipendium des Landes Berlin und dem Forschungsstipendium des Berliner Senats ausgezeichnet. Außerdem war sie 2020 Stipendiatin des Goldrausch Künstlerinnenprojekts. Silvia Noronha war nationale und international an Ausstellungen beteiligt, u.a. in Berlin, Dresden, den Niederlanden und Österreich.

 

Für ihre Förderung danken wir:

Datum

14. Januar (Freitag) - 20. Februar (Sonntag)

Veranstaltungsort

Kunstverein Göttingen

Gotmarstraße 1, 37073 Göttingen

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag – Freitag
14.00 – 18.00 Uhr

Samstag – Sonntag
11.00 – 17.00 Uhr

X