Juni 2021

13Jun(Jun 13)00:0018Jul(Jul 18)00:00Yoav Admonigrowing concerns Kunstverein Göttingen

In the exhibition growing concerns, Yoav Admoni explores how the term nature has entered into patterns of thought and everyday life—as an allegory, an environment and a fantasy. The artist simultaneously calls into question ascriptions such as ‘natural’ and ‘artificial’ and deals with the question of why nature appears to be a social place of longing. While the installation Camping addresses this longing, it becomes evident in other works that what is deemed ‘natura’l is subject to strict social evaluation mechanisms that possibly have to be put into question.

From a cultural perspective the exhibition makes it obvious that nature and the environment are not neutral refuges. Their concepts are to the same extent conflict-laden and can be used to discuss questions of historiography and power relations. In the performance and video piece A Threesome with Nature, Yoav Admoni sets his body in relation to his surroundings – for example, the border region between the United States and Mexico – and responds with artistic means to the histories and politics inscribed there.
The recreation of a historical Wardian case, a transportable greenhouse, developed specifically for the show offers a starting point for reflecting on appropriation processes, the migration of plants and science.

growing concerns brings together ideas on what surrounds us and what stories lie hidden there. And it provides an alternative view of what we perceive as ‘natural’ and ‘unnatural’.


Yoav Admoni
(*1983, Tel-Aviv / ISR) lives and works in Berlin. His interdisciplinary artistic activities comprise sculpture, performance, film, scenography, and dance. In research-based and oftentimes site-specific works, Admoni deals with nature as a social construct and what is inscribed in it, and therefore with how it can be conceived in an alternative way. growing concerns is the artist’s first solo show in Germany.

*The visit of the exhibition, our events as well as the mediation are made possible according to the current infection protection regulations. Information on the current status can be found here, or call 0551 44899.

 

The exhibition is produced in cooperation with the Old Botanical Garden of the Georg-August University Göttingen.

For the support we thank:

Datum

13. Juni (Sonntag) - 18. Juli (Sonntag)

Veranstaltungsort

Kunstverein Göttingen

Gotmarstraße 1, 37073 Göttingen

Öffnungszeiten

Tuesday – Friday
2 pm  – 6 pm

Saturday – Sunday
11 am – 5 pm

X

Juni 2021

13Jun(Jun 13)00:0018Jul(Jul 18)00:00Yoav Admonigrowing concerns Kunstverein Göttingen

In der Ausstellung growing concerns untersucht Yoav Admoni, wie Vorstellungen von Natur in Denkmuster und Alltag eingegangen sind – als Sinnbild, Umwelt und Fantasie. Gleichzeitig hinterfragt der Künstler Zuschreibungen von ‚natürlich‘ und ‚künstlich‘ und befasst sich mit der Frage, warum Natur ein gesellschaftlicher Sehnsuchtsort zu sein scheint. Während die Installation Camping eben diese Sehnsucht zum Thema macht, wird an anderer Stelle deutlich, dass das, was als ‚natürlich‘ verstanden wird, tatsächlich oft strengen Bewertungsmechanismen unterliegt, die möglicherweise in Frage gestellt werden müssen.

In der Ausstellung wird sichtbar, dass Natur und Umwelt aus kultureller Perspektive keine neutralen Rückzugsräume sind. Entlang dieser Begriffe lassen sich, auch konfliktbehaftet, Fragen von Geschichtsschreibung und Machtverhältnissen diskutieren. In der Performance- und Videoarbeit A Threesome with Nature setzt Yoav Admoni seinen Körper ins Verhältnis zu dem, was ihn umgibt – zum Beispiel im Grenzgebiet zwischen den USA und Mexiko – und reagiert mit künstlerischen Mitteln auf die dort eingeschriebenen Geschichten und Politiken.
Die eigens für die Ausstellung entwickelte Nachempfindung eines historischen Wardschen Kastens, einem transportablen Gewächshaus, bietet wiederum einen Ausgangspunkt, um über Aneignungsprozesse, die Migration von Pflanzen und Wissenschaft nachzudenken.

In growing concerns versammeln sich Ideen zu dem, was uns umgibt und welche Geschichten darin verborgen liegen. Die Ausstellung bietet einen alternativen Blick auf die Unterscheidung von dem, was ‚natürlich‘ ist, und dem, was als ‚unnatürlich‘ wahrgenommen wird.

 

Yoav Admoni (*1983, Tel-Aviv / ISR) lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Seine interdisziplinäre künstlerische Arbeit umfasst Skulptur, Performance, Film, Szenografie und Tanz. In recherchebasierten und oft ortsspezifischen Arbeiten befasst sich Admoni mit Natur als gesellschaftliches Konstrukt und damit, was in diese eingeschrieben wird und wie sie alternativ gedacht werden kann. growing concerns ist die erste Einzelausstellung des Künstlers ins Deutschland.

 

*Der Besuch der Ausstellung, unsere Veranstaltungen sowie das Vermittlungsangebot werden entsprechend der geltenden Infektionsschutzbestimmungen ermöglicht. Informationen zum jeweils aktuellen Stand finden Sie hier, oder rufen Sie an unter 0551 44899.

 

Die Ausstellung entsteht in Kooperation mit dem Alten Botanischen Garten der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen.

Für ihre Förderung danken wir:

Datum

13. Juni (Sonntag) - 18. Juli (Sonntag)

Veranstaltungsort

Kunstverein Göttingen

Gotmarstraße 1, 37073 Göttingen

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag – Freitag
14.00 – 18.00 Uhr

Samstag – Sonntag
11.00 – 17.00 Uhr

X